Search site

Dumfries and Galloway Design Awards 2016

We used the Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design to launch our first Design Awards for the best designed buildings in the region.

The awards aimed to recognise, promote and celebrate examples of exceptional design quality within both the urban and rural parts of the region. All types of projects were eligible - small to large scale, urban to rural, domestic or commercial.

There were three separate categories to enter but applications were considered for more than one category or award:

  • New build residential
  • New build non-residential
  • Works to existing buildings

The entries were judged by a panel of independent experts that included:

  • Mark Douglas (Lead Officer, Built Heritage and Design at Scottish Borders Council
  • Diarmaid Lawlor (Director of Urbanism at Architecture and Design Scotland)
  • Volkmar Nix (former Conservation Officer at Dumfries and Galloway Council)

18 high quality entries were submitted covering 16 sites and an award ceremony was held on 5 July 2016 to celebrate the winners.


New Build Residential

Lane's End, Thornhill  - John Murray Architect for Ms Blackwood, constructed by 3b Construction Ltd

Westbrook, Moffat - Simon Winstanley Architects for Mr and Mrs Graham, constructed by 3b Construction Ltd

New Build Non-Residential

Kirroughtree Visitor Centre, Newton Stewart - jmarchitects for Forestry Commission Scotland, constructed by Robertsons

Brockloch Treehouse, Kirkpatrick Durham - Echo Living (designed and constructed) for J Nicholson

Works to Exisiting Buildings

Killylour, Shawhead - Simon Winstanley Architects for Ms Chalmers and Mr McBride, constructed by Andrew Campbell and Sons

Float Bay Cottage - ARPL Architects for Mr Brown, constructed by 3b Construction Ltd

Further information

Find out more about all of the projects submitted for consideration:

The aim is to hold the awards every 2 or 3 years.

Page last updated: 03/10/17